Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees comprises 9 members. The Board members are responsible for the overseeing of the operations of the congregation as set forth at the annual meeting. The Board positions are President, Vice President, Clerk, and Treasurer.

Members and friends are welcome to attend to observe the meetings or to add agenda items in advance of the meeting. Agendas are posted in the Congregational Documents section of the website in advance of the meeting.

2021 Board of Trustees​

  • Loretta Middleton (President)

  • Carl Borchert (Vice President)

  • Paul Stewart (Treasurer)

  • Susan Richards (Clerk)

  • Susan Berman

  • Natalie Chambers

  • Robert Dunbar

  • Kristina Strand

  • Lydia Sussek

  • Rev. Linda Simmons

Volunteer Committees

Volunteers committees support and maintain the Meeting House building and congregation. Committees are a wonderful way to give and become connected.

Ministry Committee

the Ministry Committee is the liaison between the Minister and the congregation. Its responsibility is to oversee the ministry provided by the Minister and by the congregation as a whole. It serves as a communication channel between the congregation and the Minister in furtherance of the Minister ‘s role, and consults with the Minister about the ministry of the congregation as a whole. The Committee ‘s broad goal is to maintain a positive congregational environment, facilitating the reconciliation of people who desire to remain in relationship with one another.

Nominating Committee

The Nominating Committee’s primary task is to present at the next annual meeting a list of nominees for all vacancies on the Board of Trustees

nantucket unitarian church tower

Building & Grounds Committee

The Buildings & Grounds Committee has primary responsibility for oversight of the physical condition of the Meeting House, the Parsonage, and the grounds. The B&G Committee enlists and coordinates the efforts of volunteers in making repairs and keeping up the buildings, grounds, and gardens.

Finance Committee

The Finance Committee is responsible for making recommendations to the Board on all matters relating to Church finances

Pledge Campaign Committee

The Pledge Committee is responsible for providing members with an opportunity to deepen their spiritual practice of generosity and community by giving to this Meeting House that strives to make a positive difference.

The Caring Team

The mission of the Caring Team is to augment the pastoral care provided by the Minister and to facilitate a culture of caring within the Meeting House community.

The Shawl ministry knits and crochets shawls to give to parishioners (and close affiliates) in times of challenge.

I want to learn more about committees!
I am interested in learning more about the following committee(s):

Thanks for submitting! A committee representative will be in touch shortly

Growing Connections Between Friends & Members Committee 

The mission of the Growing Connections Committee is to build and encourage community by supporting and recognizing current, new, and aspiring members and friends.

7th Principle Project

The group’s mission statement is as follows: We, the members of the 7th Principle Project, declare our commitment to responsible stewardship of this island and earth, our intention to maintain a forum for open, honest discussion, and the belief that strong community is the foundation for action. 7th Principle Project has contributed to the community and congregation in many ways. Visit the social justice page to learn more.

The Immigration Resource Center

The goal of the Immigration Resource Center is to provide support to recent immigrants on Nantucket. Our focus is to offer information and referrals. We have concentrated our efforts in the areas of counseling, education, food, clothing and housing, health care and legal and government services. We meet the first Monday of every month from 5:30-7:00 pm.

Make It Stop

Our Mission: Working to prevent gun violence through common sense legislation and committed action.

We work to provide educational forums, write letters to government officials and offer vigils when needed to mourn and speak out.

Food Rescue, Waste Not

Food Rescue Nantucket collects food from growers, retailers, and renters and distributes the food to the food pantry, it’s network and other recipients identified by Food Rescue Nantucket.

nantucket unitarian universalists in the community garden
Food Rescue - Inky 12-13-18.JPG

Communications & Marketing Committee

A resource to the Board and committees that provides communications and marketing advice and helps ensure the consistency of the messaging of those communications in order to attract participants and financial support. Additionally, inspire people to find their way to our values and mission in the effort to build a better world.


  1. Provide a guide to our brand and messaging and help assure church communications are consistent with same.

  2. Provide partial or complete assistance with using Auctria

  3. Provide support on ways to raise funds, marketing strategies, etc.

  4. Using the Board's FUNdraiser calendar, contact each responsible committee well ahead of time and offer C&MC's support

  5. Maintain and update marketing pamphlet. Track and report how many are taken.

  6. Help each committee do what the members of that committee are passionate about and, if there is an additional opportunity, present that plan to the Board and own the plan and outcome

Coffee Hour Committee

Our congregation practices the welcoming tradition of hospitality. The Hospitality Coordinator and others prepare coffee and set out cookies or other items for the after-service coffee hour on Sunday mornings.

Archives Committee

The Mission of the Archivist is to collect, organize, preserve and protect the written, visual and aural records of the Unitarian Universalist Meeting House and to make them available for authorized consultation and use.

Music Committee

The Music Committee works with the Music Director in planning and coordinating the adult choir and the church’s music related events, including the summer-fall concert series.

nantucket unitarian church choir
4th Sunday committee.jpg

Lay Led Service Committee

The Lay Led Service Committee meets to discern, design, plan and implement one Sunday service a month. Subjects are chosen from a broad field of interests. Congregants and guest speakers share these Sundays that culminate in an experience of congregational and island talent and wisdom.

Citizen of the World Explorers (C-WE) Committee

Our mission is to guide children and youth in a supportive and affirming educational environment in keeping with Unitarian Universalist principles, exposing them to many beliefs and cultures, and encouraging them to discern what is ethical and just in life. The Citizen of the World Committee members plan design and evaluate curricula and events for the children’s program.​

nantucket unitarian church religious education

South Church Preservation Fund (SCPF) Affiliate Organization

The SCPF is a separate 501(c)(3) organization for fundraising to support restoration and preservation of the historic Meeting House building and grounds. The board of SCPF is comprised of several representatives from the Nantucket UU congregation, plus others from the island. Learn more about the SCPF on their website.